CEGUI & Torque

Forum for general chit-chat or off-topic discussion.

Moderators: CEGUI MVP, CEGUI Team

User avatar
fjeronimo
CEGUI Tools Developer (Retired)
Posts: 59
Joined: Tue Sep 11, 2007 16:57
Location: Lisbon, Portugal
Contact:

CEGUI & Torque

Postby fjeronimo » Thu Oct 11, 2007 14:57

I was just wondering if anyone has tried or is planning to use CEGUI with Torque? And what are your thoughts on the difficulty of doing so?
Frederico Jerónimo
Ignite Games - http://www.ignite-games.com
Ignite Games Institutional Site - http://we.ignite-games.com

User avatar
scriptkid
Home away from home
Home away from home
Posts: 1178
Joined: Wed Jan 12, 2005 12:06
Location: The Hague, The Netherlands
Contact:

Postby scriptkid » Mon Oct 15, 2007 08:31

Hi,

I don't think anyone has tried yet. The main reason shall be that Torgue is (or at least seems, i haven't worked with it) a complete game engine, including a GUI of its own. It probably won't be easy to replace a built-in feature with an external library.

User avatar
fjeronimo
CEGUI Tools Developer (Retired)
Posts: 59
Joined: Tue Sep 11, 2007 16:57
Location: Lisbon, Portugal
Contact:

Postby fjeronimo » Wed Oct 17, 2007 10:04

Thanks scripkid. :)

Yes, Torque does include a GUI of its own. I haven't worked with Torque for a few years now, but from what I recall Torque's GUI could use some serious improvements, besides not being user-friendly at all development-wise.

Since Torque is such a popular game engine, I was curious to see how CEGUI could fit in it. I was thinking that someone might have tried the integration in the past, but perhaps it's too much trouble in the first place.
Frederico Jerónimo

Ignite Games - http://www.ignite-games.com

Ignite Games Institutional Site - http://we.ignite-games.com

User avatar
Evak
Not too shy to talk
Not too shy to talk
Posts: 32
Joined: Mon Apr 17, 2006 05:29
Contact:

Postby Evak » Sun Oct 28, 2007 17:41

torques GUI system is rather rubbish, your limited to a few standard widgets so everything tends to look kind of similar.

User avatar
fjeronimo
CEGUI Tools Developer (Retired)
Posts: 59
Joined: Tue Sep 11, 2007 16:57
Location: Lisbon, Portugal
Contact:

Postby fjeronimo » Sun Oct 28, 2007 20:34

Yes, as I last remember, they didn't focus much on the GUI portion of the engine. Perhaps something to consider in the future...
Frederico Jerónimo

Ignite Games - http://www.ignite-games.com

Ignite Games Institutional Site - http://we.ignite-games.com

morg
Just popping in
Just popping in
Posts: 12
Joined: Sat Jun 17, 2006 23:38
Contact:

Postby morg » Thu Nov 01, 2007 16:41

I've some experience with Torque 1.5. TGE's GUI is not outstanding but it does the job very well.

We had to make deep modifications to TGE 1.5 for a Casual Game which is going to be shipped soon, so I had aquired some knowledge about Torque. Torque doesn't allow you to use C++'s STL, this is very annoying.

I have not had time enough to look into CEGUI source code, but if CEGUI uses STL it wont work with Torque so easily.


Return to “Offtopic Discussion”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 3 guests