Error using combo , edit control

Forum for general chit-chat or off-topic discussion.

Moderators: CEGUI MVP, CEGUI Team

User avatar
spannerman
Home away from home
Home away from home
Posts: 330
Joined: Wed Jan 12, 2005 12:06

Re: Error using combo , edit control

Postby spannerman » Mon Jan 31, 2005 17:52

Just a couple of ideas for you:

- Any errors in the CEGUI log?

- Do you have valid sizes and positions to for this Combobox? So maybe its there, just off screen or hidden or two small etc.

- Are you able to create and add any other widgets to your root? Or is it just this Combobox? Try adding a StaticText and then adding your Combobox to the StaticText.

User avatar
CrazyEddie
CEGUI Project Lead
Posts: 6760
Joined: Wed Jan 12, 2005 12:06
Location: England
Contact:

Re: Error using combo , edit control

Postby CrazyEddie » Tue Feb 01, 2005 09:21

Code: Select all

 Editbox* ebox = (Editbox*)winMgr.createWindow((utf8*)"TaharezLook/Editbox", (utf8*)"Demo7/Window1/Editbox";
root->addChildWindow(ebox);

>>>>>>> pt.d_y += 1.0;

ebox->setMaximum


Hi,

The line of code indicated by >>>>>>> is putting all subsequent windows beyond the bottom of the window root.

HTH

CE

User avatar
spannerman
Home away from home
Home away from home
Posts: 330
Joined: Wed Jan 12, 2005 12:06

Re: Error using combo , edit control

Postby spannerman » Tue Feb 01, 2005 11:42

Are you using the latest CVS CEGUI version?

Are your TaharezLook schemes, layouts and imageset files all up to date? Do they correctly define the combobox and edit box?

What happens if you comment out just the editbox, or just the combobox? Are both individually causing you problems?

Are you sure that the names you are assigning have not alreay been assigned elsewhere in the system?

Are you sure there is not a more detailed error message in the CEGUI log?

User avatar
CrazyEddie
CEGUI Project Lead
Posts: 6760
Joined: Wed Jan 12, 2005 12:06
Location: England
Contact:

Re: Error using combo , edit control

Postby CrazyEddie » Tue Feb 01, 2005 13:26

As spannerman has asked, please post the contents of the file CEGUI.log.

Thanks,

CE.

User avatar
CrazyEddie
CEGUI Project Lead
Posts: 6760
Joined: Wed Jan 12, 2005 12:06
Location: England
Contact:

Re: Error using combo , edit control

Postby CrazyEddie » Wed Feb 02, 2005 09:51

Just a possibility:

Have you set a default font by calling the System::setDefaultFont method prior to creating the windows and widgets? I think this would crash on Editbox and Combobox (since Combobox has an embedded Editbox).

CE.

User avatar
CrazyEddie
CEGUI Project Lead
Posts: 6760
Joined: Wed Jan 12, 2005 12:06
Location: England
Contact:

Re: Error using combo , edit control

Postby CrazyEddie » Wed Feb 02, 2005 11:06

I'll take a wild guess and say that you're probably running the app from within the IDE and that you have not set the current directory (via the project settings) to the ./bin directory. This causes the app to run with the top-level directory as current which is why you needed to copy those files over and is probably why you're having these other issues.

Do you get the same, or different, issues when you run the application directly from within Windows explorer rather than via the IDE?

CE.

User avatar
krithigal
Not too shy to talk
Not too shy to talk
Posts: 40
Joined: Wed Jan 12, 2005 12:06

Re: Error using combo , edit control - urgent

Postby krithigal » Wed Feb 09, 2005 05:54

Hi
I am yet to resolve the error related to edit box and combo box. Can you pl verify the code I have if I can mail you the workspace. Pl let me know your mailid in that case.

Today also I had downloaded demo7 src zip version cegui_mk2-0.1.0-demo_7_src.zip (810KB) and tried to compile with cegui0.1.1 lib. Compiled successfully but does not display anything until the code block related to editbox and combobox are commented out.

I am stuck. I need to develop a test application using combo box.

Pl let me know whether I can mail you the code which I have for verification at your end.


regards
krithiga

User avatar
CrazyEddie
CEGUI Project Lead
Posts: 6760
Joined: Wed Jan 12, 2005 12:06
Location: England
Contact:

Re: Error using combo , edit control - urgent

Postby CrazyEddie » Wed Feb 09, 2005 09:30

Hi,

I'll get back to you shortly about this, I need to check a couple of things before hand, so bear with me...

User avatar
CrazyEddie
CEGUI Project Lead
Posts: 6760
Joined: Wed Jan 12, 2005 12:06
Location: England
Contact:

Re: Error using combo , edit control - urgent

Postby CrazyEddie » Wed Feb 09, 2005 11:28

Okay, I can confirm that demo 7 with release 0.1.1 works 100% out of the box.

Here's what I suggest:

Code: Select all

1) Delete the demo 7 directory.
2) Extract a fresh copy of demo 7
3) Compile Ogre
4) Compile CEGUI
5) Compile Demo7
6) Copy the required ogre dll files into the demo 7 bin directory
7) Exit VC++
8) Run the demo directly from the demo7/bin directory.


Okay, this definately works as I just tried it.

The next thing you're going to want to do is run the thing from within the VC++ IDE. So, restart VC++, now you need to go into the project settings and change the "working directory" in the debug settings (for both release and debug configurations) to the demo7/bin directory.

If you still can't get it to work, you can email me your code and I'll try and take a look at it (please remember to 'clean' the project first to save sending binary files I can re-create).

CE.


Return to “Offtopic Discussion”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 8 guests