Very basic help needed with XML files

For help with general CEGUI usage:
- Questions about the usage of CEGUI and its features, if not explained in the documentation.
- Problems with the CMAKE configuration or problems occuring during the build process/compilation.
- Errors or unexpected behaviour.

Moderators: CEGUI MVP, CEGUI Team

LearnerPlates
Just popping in
Just popping in

Very basic help needed with XML files

Postby LearnerPlates » Mon Jun 08, 2009 06:22

Hi - I'm new to both CEGUI and OGRE and am trying to figure out some CEGUI basics for a C++ project.

I apologise if this is stupidly elementary, but I've browsed through the forums and googled extensively and I'm still having difficulties. I was wondering if there are any basic tutorials anywhere that explain the relationships / dependencies between the various XML files CEGUI uses (.imageset, .layout etc), and / or that describe how to create your own XML files.

I've been trying to experiment on my own but am not getting very far - at the moment I have a myProject.imageset, myProject.layout, myProject.looknfeel and myProject.scheme. I made these by copying and renaming the TaharezLook files, then changing all the instances of "TaharezLook" within the files to "myProject". All I want at the moment is for my program to load the same data contained in TaharezLook through these files, but I guess this isn't the way to do it! I'm getting a blank screen and the following error in CEGUI.log:
loading of look and feel data from file myProject.looknfeel has failed
. If I load the original TaharezLook instead, though, using the same C++ code (and all instances of myProject switched to TaharezLook, of course), the program loads fine with no errors.. so the problem isn't in my code. Any suggestions?

Jamarr
CEGUI MVP
CEGUI MVP

Re: Very basic help needed with XML files

Postby Jamarr » Mon Jun 08, 2009 16:37