Canvas Like Widget Control?

For help with general CEGUI usage:
- Questions about the usage of CEGUI and its features, if not explained in the documentation.
- Problems with the CMAKE configuration or problems occuring during the build process/compilation.
- Errors or unexpected behaviour.

Moderators: CEGUI MVP, CEGUI Team

Rixarn
Just popping in
Just popping in

Canvas Like Widget Control?

Postby Rixarn » Tue Aug 06, 2013 21:58

Hello, I'm new to CEGUI and I want to consider it as the gui subsystem for my next C++ game project. I've checked some of the control descriptions but I have no clue if any of them can be used as a "Canvas". What I want to do is have a widget where I can put my own render routine.

Is it possible?

Ident
CEGUI Team

Re: Canvas Like Widget Control?

Postby Ident » Wed Aug 07, 2013 16:39

From what i understand you want to render into a texture and then display this texture inside a widget. If you use an OpenGL or Direct3D texture to render your normal stuff into and you can create an Image, apply your texture to it and then use the image inside a CEGUI window.

That's what I understand from your post. However I do not know what a Widget Control / Canvas is, can you offer a link to what u mean?
CrazyEddie: "I don't like GUIs"

Rixarn
Just popping in
Just popping in

Postby Rixarn » Wed Aug 14, 2013 18:31

Hello Ident,

Thanks for your reply! I was on vacation and didn't had the time to check the forum. Actually what you say pretty much solves what I want to do I think. A "Canvas" widget would be, for example, a small contained space inside a window where I can render, for example, a mini-map of a game or some 2d charts and the like.

So that's how it's done, render to texture? Is that fast?

Ident
CEGUI Team

Postby Ident » Thu Aug 15, 2013 00:18