[Answered]Is it possible to float windows outside of application main window?

For help with general CEGUI usage:
- Questions about the usage of CEGUI and its features, if not explained in the documentation.
- Problems with the CMAKE configuration or problems occuring during the build process/compilation.
- Errors or unexpected behaviour.

Moderators: CEGUI MVP, CEGUI Team

cstoneburner
Just popping in
Just popping in

[Answered]Is it possible to float windows outside of application main window?

Postby cstoneburner » Tue Jan 17, 2017 21:45

Utter noob here, so I don't even have the right vocabulary for a good search, although I did try.

Is it possible to float gui windows outside of the boundaries of the main application window?

If it is possible could someone point me in the direction of instructions, examples, and/or better search terms than "float" or "floating"?

What specifically I'm wanting to try: I'm trying to mod a game (Life is Feudal:Forest Village) which uses CEGUI, the files for which the devs have made accessible to modders. All of the gui is currently bounded by the game's window and I'd like to be able to move the windows outside of it (like you can, say, move find and replace windows in MSWord to outside of the editing window) and I would like to mod it so that some or all of it can be shifted outside of it (in my case, to a second monitor).

I have managed some minor tweaks both using CEED (which is great!) and outside of it and am generally willing to poke at things if I know it's not impossible.
Last edited by cstoneburner on Tue Jan 17, 2017 23:07, edited 1 time in total.

YaronCT
CEGUI Team

Re: Is it possible to float windows outside of application main window?

Postby YaronCT » Tue Jan 17, 2017 21:53

I think for that u need more than 1 OS windows, which I don't think should b a problem. Each OS window would have its own gui context.

YaronCT
CEGUI Team

Postby YaronCT » Tue Jan 17, 2017 21:55