DynamicModule fails to load ExpatParser

For help with general CEGUI usage:
- Questions about the usage of CEGUI and its features, if not explained in the documentation.
- Problems with the CMAKE configuration or problems occuring during the build process/compilation.
- Errors or unexpected behaviour.

Moderators: CEGUI MVP, CEGUI Team

KillerM
Just popping in
Just popping in
Posts: 6
Joined: Sat Jul 28, 2018 11:21

DynamicModule fails to load ExpatParser

Postby KillerM » Sat Jul 28, 2018 11:30

Hi guys. I followed the tutorial and built the dependencies and CEGUI in VS. I'm getting a "Failed to load module" error on the expat parser dll, even though it is sitting in the same folder as the executable. Really all I'm doing right now is creating a D3D9 Device and trying to use the bootstrap system on it.

User avatar
Ident
CEGUI Team
Posts: 1998
Joined: Sat Oct 31, 2009 13:57
Location: Austria

Re: DynamicModule fails to load ExpatParser

Postby Ident » Sat Jul 28, 2018 11:42

Which tutorial? which CEGUI version? does the sample browser work?
CrazyEddie: "I don't like GUIs"

KillerM
Just popping in
Just popping in
Posts: 6
Joined: Sat Jul 28, 2018 11:21

Re: DynamicModule fails to load ExpatParser

Postby KillerM » Sat Jul 28, 2018 13:39

The tutorial about building with CMake and Visual Studio, the one on youtube. Using the latest version, only got it yesterday. Not sure what you mean about the sample browser

User avatar
Ident
CEGUI Team
Posts: 1998
Joined: Sat Oct 31, 2009 13:57
Location: Austria

Re: DynamicModule fails to load ExpatParser

Postby Ident » Sat Jul 28, 2018 21:29

I really dont know which video you mean. A link would help in this case.

The sample browser is part of the solution that you create with cmake (by default). You can run it and you should see if it works there. It is setup and tested and would work if everything else is setup correctly. That way you can find out if it is an issue with your project setup or with the way CEGUI was configured in your case.

Based on the information you gave us so far, I have no real hint why what you are saying is happenign despite the presence of the dll. Maybe a naming issue? Starting from the wrong debugging folder?
CrazyEddie: "I don't like GUIs"

User avatar
Ident
CEGUI Team
Posts: 1998
Joined: Sat Oct 31, 2009 13:57
Location: Austria

Re: DynamicModule fails to load ExpatParser

Postby Ident » Sat Jul 28, 2018 21:31

Are the dependencies of the expat module maybe missing? (libexpat.dll)
CrazyEddie: "I don't like GUIs"

KillerM
Just popping in
Just popping in
Posts: 6
Joined: Sat Jul 28, 2018 11:21

Re: DynamicModule fails to load ExpatParser

Postby KillerM » Sat Jul 28, 2018 21:56

The video I was referring to is this:
https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=VaD-MQJLtWk&

After putting the libexpat_d.dll in my folder, the problem is now loading the SILLY codec. I put CEGUISILLYImageCodec_d.dll and SILLY_d.dll in the folder, but no dice. I'm on Visual Studio 2017, Windows 10, if that makes a difference. Is there a way to tell the program where these DLLs are located instead of having to paste them in the same folder as the executable?

KillerM
Just popping in
Just popping in
Posts: 6
Joined: Sat Jul 28, 2018 11:21

Re: DynamicModule fails to load ExpatParser

Postby KillerM » Sat Jul 28, 2018 22:06

I dumped all *_d.dll files from the dependency folder into my exe folder, and now it works. The problem I'm getting now is when trying to call

Code: Select all

CEGUI::System::create(myRenderer);
, I'm getting an exception in the line

Code: Select all

assert( !ms_Singleton );
in Singleton.h

User avatar
Ident
CEGUI Team
Posts: 1998
Joined: Sat Oct 31, 2009 13:57
Location: Austria

Re: DynamicModule fails to load ExpatParser

Postby Ident » Sun Jul 29, 2018 07:05

KillerM wrote:I dumped all *_d.dll files from the dependency folder into my exe folder, and now it works. The problem I'm getting now is when trying to call

Code: Select all

CEGUI::System::create(myRenderer);
, I'm getting an exception in the line

Code: Select all

assert( !ms_Singleton );
in Singleton.h


Read the documentation carefully again. You are seemingly not initialising things in the right order. Also have you taken a look at the Application Template example? It contains the exact code all in one file to properly start up everything.
CrazyEddie: "I don't like GUIs"


Return to “Help”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 28 guests