Page 1 of 2

Python 'ascii codec can't decode byte 0xe9' error at startup

Posted: Thu Sep 25, 2014 13:10
by Bertram
Hi there, :)

I'm reporting the following error as I was unable to find similar posts. My apologize if it is already know.

With the latest stable CEED version (0.8.0) windows zip file, I've got the following error at startup (in a message box):

Code: Select all

Traceback(most recent call last):
File "C:\Python27\lib\site-packages\cx_Freeze\initscripts\Console.py", line 27, in <module>
File "bin/ceed-gui", line 89, in <module>
File "bin/ceed-gui", line 30, in main
File "g:\Libraries\CEGUI\ceed\prerequisites.py" line 117, in check
UnicodeDecodeError: 'ascii' codec can't decode byte 0xe9 in position 173: ordinal not in range(128)


Using the unstable zip snapshot on the same machine, CEED is starting just fine.

Feel free to ask if you need more info. :)

Best regards,

Re: Python 'ascii codec can't decode byte 0xe9' error at sta

Posted: Mon Sep 29, 2014 12:06
by Ident
We did not manage to reproduce this.

What exact OS do you use and what is your paths in your project?

Re: Python 'ascii codec can't decode byte 0xe9' error at sta

Posted: Tue Sep 30, 2014 15:26
by Bertram
Hi ident, :)

Ident wrote:did not manage to reproduce this.
What exact OS do you use and what is your paths in your project?


- OS: Windows XP. (I'll try tonight on 7)
- I've downloaded this one: http://sourceforge.net/projects/crayzed ... p/download
- I have uncompressed it (using right-click, extract to...) on the desktop (end path: C:\Documents and Settings\me\Desktop\ceed-0.8.0-win32)
- Then I opened the new folder and tried to run: ceed-gui.exe
The message box appears immediately.

When doing the exact same with this one, it is working: http://sourceforge.net/projects/crayzed ... p/download

Best regards,

Re: Python 'ascii codec can't decode byte 0xe9' error at sta

Posted: Tue Sep 30, 2014 15:40
by Ident
Cant reproduce on Windows 7 with the CEED 0.8.0 Release.

Are you actually set up as "me" on windows or did you replace your actual name in the path youz gave us there? If you did replace your user name, could you tell us at least if it contains any non-ascii characters and if yes paste them here?

Re: Python 'ascii codec can't decode byte 0xe9' error at sta

Posted: Thu Oct 02, 2014 15:58
by Bertram
Good question. Indeed I've replaced the user by 'me', but the user was 'yohann', so no non-ASCII character AFAIK.

I'll also check on Win7 asap (this time for real).

Best regards,

Re: Python 'ascii codec can't decode byte 0xe9' error at sta

Posted: Sun Oct 05, 2014 17:35
by Ident
Any news on this?

Re: Python 'ascii codec can't decode byte 0xe9' error at sta

Posted: Tue Oct 07, 2014 09:26
by Kulik
This really is an annoying issue. It seems some exception is being raised but it contains text that can't be interpreted as ASCII. We really want to see what's inside the exception.

I will change the prerequisites code to be more robust and just print out the broken ASCII instead of complaining about it. It should be fixed for the next version.

Re: Python 'ascii codec can't decode byte 0xe9' error at sta

Posted: Sat Oct 11, 2014 07:05
by Bertram
Hi guys. :)

Sorry for the slow answer. I just tested on a Win7 64bit version. Exact same bug at start.

Also, the snapshot 11 is starting just fine.

I'll gladly test the next snapshot and report any error or log file you could request.

Best regards,

Re: Python 'ascii codec can't decode byte 0xe9' error at sta

Posted: Sat Oct 11, 2014 20:11
by Kulik
We need to fix it, that's why we need better info about what actually you are running into.

Very likely it's some nasty exception having invalid message that's the culprit.

Re: Python 'ascii codec can't decode byte 0xe9' error at sta

Posted: Sat Oct 11, 2014 20:47
by Ident
But why cant i reproduce...

Re: Python 'ascii codec can't decode byte 0xe9' error at sta

Posted: Sun Oct 12, 2014 11:18
by Kulik
Maybe you have en_US Windows while Bertram has something with non-ASCII characters?

Re: Python 'ascii codec can't decode byte 0xe9' error at sta

Posted: Mon Oct 13, 2014 18:53
by Bertram
Hi :)

Kulik wrote:Maybe you have en_US Windows while Bertram has something with non-ASCII characters?

Both were french edition of Windows, indeed. I guess fr_FR ones for both. Maybe "Français" is the culprit word, for instance?

Best regards,

Re: Python 'ascii codec can't decode byte 0xe9' error at sta

Posted: Mon Oct 13, 2014 19:03
by Ident
Sure, that's a non-Ascii symbol.

Re: Python 'ascii codec can't decode byte 0xe9' error at sta

Posted: Mon Oct 13, 2014 19:17
by Bertram
Hi,

I checked here: http://doc.infosnel.nl/extreme_utf-8.html
The 0xe9 character seems to be a 'é'.

Hope this can help.

Best regards,

Re: Python 'ascii codec can't decode byte 0xe9' error at sta

Posted: Wed Nov 26, 2014 14:01
by Bertram
Hi there,

I'm bumping the thread but with proactive thoughts, don't worry.
I wondered whether there were a way to compile/run the project to get the file triggering the crash on Windows.
I've seen pdb, but it seems I need to change the python scripts and I don't know whether it's feasible.

The fact is I'm still worth peanuts in python even if I decided it was time to give it a try...
So if you've got explanation on how I could get info on the crash, I'll take and use them.

Best regards,