Python 'ascii codec can't decode byte 0xe9' error at startup

Forum for support and development discussion regarding the python based unified editor tool for CEGUI, known as CEED.

Moderators: CEGUI MVP, CEGUI Team

User avatar
Kulik
CEGUI Team
Posts: 1382
Joined: Mon Jul 26, 2010 18:47
Location: Czech Republic
Contact:

Re: Python 'ascii codec can't decode byte 0xe9' error at sta

Postby Kulik » Wed Nov 26, 2014 14:33

The problem is that we need non-en_US Windows to reproduce this and I simply don't have access to any. The issue itself should be easy to debug and resolve once you can reproduce it.

I think Ident has English Windows as well :-(

Bertram
Quite a regular
Quite a regular
Posts: 73
Joined: Wed Oct 02, 2013 14:46

Re: Python 'ascii codec can't decode byte 0xe9' error at sta

Postby Bertram » Wed Nov 26, 2014 15:39

Good news,

I was playing with running the ceed binaries in a console, and I got this:

Code: Select all

C:\Documents and Settings\yohann\ceed-0.8.0-win32>ceed-mic.exe
Traceback (most recent call last):
  File "C:\Python27\lib\site-packages\cx_Freeze\initscripts\Console.py", line 27
, in <module>
  File "bin/ceed-mic", line 92, in <module>
  File "bin/ceed-mic", line 31, in main
  File "G:\Libraries\CEGUI\ceed\ceed\prerequisites.py", line 117, in check
UnicodeDecodeError: 'ascii' codec can't decode byte 0xe9 in position 173: ordinal not in range(128)

https://bitbucket.org/cegui/ceed/src/c3 ... ult#cl-117

I would thus bet the unicode("\n") statement might be for something about it.

I couldn't find any commit changing this line, so I'd also bet the difference between the snapshot and the 0.8.0 version about the fact that the condition:

Code: Select all

if (not ret) or (not supressMessagesIfNotFatal and len(messages) > 0):

is now triggered while it wasn't in the snapshot 11 version. (I tested, ceed-mic.exe runs fine in the snapshot version.)

I hope this will help :)


User avatar
Ident
CEGUI Team
Posts: 1998
Joined: Sat Oct 31, 2009 13:57
Location: Austria

Re: Python 'ascii codec can't decode byte 0xe9' error at sta

Postby Ident » Thu Nov 27, 2014 10:55

Kulik wrote:The problem is that we need non-en_US Windows to reproduce this and I simply don't have access to any. The issue itself should be easy to debug and resolve once you can reproduce it.

I think Ident has English Windows as well :-(

My Windows is English but you can always change the language locale, or does that make no difference?

Edit: Imo this should work: http://windows.microsoft.com/en-us/wind ... =windows-7

I have done it in the past when I needed to start obscure applications that required foreign locale's and had foreign encoding for that so we should be able to reproduce this even with our English Windows.
CrazyEddie: "I don't like GUIs"

User avatar
Kulik
CEGUI Team
Posts: 1382
Joined: Mon Jul 26, 2010 18:47
Location: Czech Republic
Contact:

Re: Python 'ascii codec can't decode byte 0xe9' error at sta

Postby Kulik » Thu Nov 27, 2014 15:06

AFAIK you need to have the rich man's Windows to do this - the Ultimate version. But I am not sure. I have Home Premium.

User avatar
Ident
CEGUI Team
Posts: 1998
Joined: Sat Oct 31, 2009 13:57
Location: Austria

Re: Python 'ascii codec can't decode byte 0xe9' error at sta

Postby Ident » Thu Nov 27, 2014 15:55

I have Windows 7 Professional. *throws dollar bills around*

EDIT: As far as I know this also works on 7 Home Premium. You probably confuse this with language packs (MUIs) which are only available on Ultimate etc. ...
CrazyEddie: "I don't like GUIs"

lucebac
Just can't stay away
Just can't stay away
Posts: 193
Joined: Sat May 24, 2014 21:55

Re: Python 'ascii codec can't decode byte 0xe9' error at sta

Postby lucebac » Fri Dec 05, 2014 18:17

I recently changed my Windows' locale, so yes, it is possible (even on Win 8.1 Home Premium).


Return to “Official Unified CEGUI Editor Tool (CEED)”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 6 guests