wireframe in CEGUI !!!

For help with anything that CEGUI doesn't offer straight out-of-the-box, e.g.:
- Implementation of new features, such as new Core classes, widgets, WindowRenderers, etc. ...
- Modification of any existing features for specific purposes
- Integration of CEGUI in new engines or frameworks and writing of new plugins (Renderer, Parser, ...) or modules

Moderators: CEGUI MVP, CEGUI Team

belkacem
Quite a regular
Quite a regular
Posts: 83
Joined: Fri Jan 07, 2011 13:55

wireframe in CEGUI !!!

Postby belkacem » Tue Jul 26, 2011 09:14

hello again !

in directx we can render our scene in two different more :
solid mode
wire fame mode

OK.

now i create few window and some controls and is rendering very good but if i want to switch to wire frame mode i see the GUI in solid mode and i can't view in wire frame mode .

in my opinion about this problem is in CEGUI Library itself ( i am not sure 100/100 )
i think the object (framewindow , button , ...etc) in CEGUI are not meshes and not contain any vertices , but they are just images loaded to device11 as texture and render theme .

example : the mesh in directx are vertices attach together with triangles
http://msdn.microsoft.com/en-us/library/ee416437%28v=vs.85%29.aspx


but there is another problem : if i use NVIDIA Parallel Nsight to analyse and debug the application i see lines and triangles that create the window and buttons ...etc !! this is mean that the object contain vertices

NVIDIA Parallel Nsight
http://developer.nvidia.com/nvidia-parallel-nsight

look at this
NOTE : the red line are triangle that create the window

http://www.freeimagehosting.net/d4447
http://www.freeimagehosting.net/7f5a6

User avatar
Kulik
CEGUI Team
Posts: 1382
Joined: Mon Jul 26, 2010 18:47
Location: Czech Republic
Contact:

Re: wireframe in CEGUI !!!

Postby Kulik » Tue Jul 26, 2011 09:57

All of the things you posted are true, I am wondering why you are so surprised.

The windows are just series of quads (triangle pairs) that are textured... CEGUI itself probably resets the wireframe flag and renders solid, that's why it shows up in the NV tool but not when you switch wireframe on.

belkacem
Quite a regular
Quite a regular
Posts: 83
Joined: Fri Jan 07, 2011 13:55

Re: wireframe in CEGUI !!!

Postby belkacem » Tue Jul 26, 2011 10:24

thanks for your reply


CEGUI itself probably resets the wireframe flag and renders solid


but why !!!

belkacem
Quite a regular
Quite a regular
Posts: 83
Joined: Fri Jan 07, 2011 13:55

Re: wireframe in CEGUI !!!

Postby belkacem » Tue Jul 26, 2011 10:32

i think that i found the problem

look at the CEGUI source code at CEGUIDirect3D11RendererShader.txt

http://pastebin.com/raw.php?i=riH7GDP9


you will find something like this


Code: Select all

"RasterizerState rasterstate\n"
"{\n"
"   DepthClipEnable = false;\n"
"   FillMode = Solid;\n"              ////////her is the problem
"   CullMode = None;\n"
"   ScissorEnable = true;\n"
"};\n"
"\n"


i will change it and i will past the result

User avatar
Kulik
CEGUI Team
Posts: 1382
Joined: Mon Jul 26, 2010 18:47
Location: Czech Republic
Contact:

Re: wireframe in CEGUI !!!

Postby Kulik » Tue Jul 26, 2011 20:21

Is it really a problem though? Why do you need wireframe of your GUI?

belkacem
Quite a regular
Quite a regular
Posts: 83
Joined: Fri Jan 07, 2011 13:55

Re: wireframe in CEGUI !!!

Postby belkacem » Wed Jul 27, 2011 10:29

Is it really a problem though?

i don't think that .

Why do you need wireframe of your GUI?


it's just a Coincidence , i render my scene in wireframe mode , i see all the object wires but GUI , so i ask this question :wink: :wink:


Return to “Modifications / Integrations / Customisations”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 6 guests