CEGUI Layout Editor 0.5.0 RC2

Use this forum for:
- Discussion regarding unofficial CEGUI related tools, scripts and utilities.
- User to user help for the obsoleted CELayoutEditor and CEImagesetEditor tools.

Moderators: CEGUI MVP, CEGUI Team

User avatar
CrazyEddie
CEGUI Project Lead
Posts: 6760
Joined: Wed Jan 12, 2005 12:06
Location: England
Contact:

Postby CrazyEddie » Sun Oct 29, 2006 21:48

Hmmm. It seems it never tries to load any kind of skin at all. I also just saw that it's failing to load the "GeneralGUI.imageset" Imageset - I think it might bail out of loading that scheme at that point, and is why the rest of it's not working.

The reason the Imageset fails is that file "bg1.png" is not loading, this is because the Editor is built to use the basic TGAImageCodec - which can only load tga files. To get over that you would either have to either convert the image, or rebuild things to use an image codec that supports png.

CE.

Slicky
Quite a regular
Quite a regular
Posts: 63
Joined: Wed Jan 12, 2005 12:06

Postby Slicky » Sun Oct 29, 2006 23:05

Eddie:

You got it. Taking out the imageset that references a .png fixed the problem.

I don't know why only .tga at this point. Maybe a more generic image loader would be appropriate.

Thanks for the help

User avatar
CrazyEddie
CEGUI Project Lead
Posts: 6760
Joined: Wed Jan 12, 2005 12:06
Location: England
Contact:

Postby CrazyEddie » Mon Oct 30, 2006 08:06

Yeah, I agree. Personally, I think it should be using the SILLY image loader - since it's something we have total control over and has support for more image file formats. Though as sub-project manager, Scriptkid gets the final say ;)

CE.

User avatar
scriptkid
Home away from home
Home away from home
Posts: 1178
Joined: Wed Jan 12, 2005 12:06
Location: The Hague, The Netherlands
Contact:

Postby scriptkid » Tue Oct 31, 2006 11:10

I'll have a look at it :-)

p_designc
Just popping in
Just popping in
Posts: 4
Joined: Tue Nov 07, 2006 10:45

Postby p_designc » Tue Nov 07, 2006 13:42

i got this error when i tried to open the editor.

Code: Select all

21:40:40: The file 'CELayoutEditor.ini' could not be found; default settings will apply now.
21:41:19: FontManager::createFont - The value for the Font:Type attribute 'Dynamic' is unknown.
21:41:19: FontManager::createFont - The value for the Font:Type attribute 'Dynamic' is unknown.
21:41:19: DefaultResourceProvider::load - TaharezLook.imageset does not exist
21:41:19: DefaultResourceProvider::load - ../../Media/GUI/imagesets/WindowsLook.imageset does not exist


Actually, where is the "datafiles" being selected when first start?

User avatar
scriptkid
Home away from home
Home away from home
Posts: 1178
Joined: Wed Jan 12, 2005 12:06
Location: The Hague, The Netherlands
Contact:

Postby scriptkid » Tue Nov 07, 2006 17:33

Hi,

the idea is that you select the datafiles directory in the cegui/samples directory for example. Or an equally looking directory. Looking at your log it seems to be '../../Media/GUI/'.

Once you have done this, keep in mind that the editor uses cegui's ResourceGroup functionality, meaning that you don't have to (or in fact may not) use paths inside your .scheme files for example.

So you should remove all '../../Media/GUI/XXX/' parts from paths in your data files.

Besides that, have a peek at the .ini file, which the editor will create after a first startup. There you can specify a path per resource type. It's all up to you :-)

Good luck!

User avatar
drumicube
Not too shy to talk
Not too shy to talk
Posts: 43
Joined: Thu Nov 02, 2006 12:09
Location: France

Postby drumicube » Wed Nov 08, 2006 00:23

Trying to solve the png problem:
I have rebuild CEGUIBase.dll with Silly as default ImageCodec, as it supports more file format including png:
No way, I can't have it, it's always asking for the old TGAImageCodec

I have updated the config.lua as explained, and rebuild the solution for Visual Studio 2003, I can see my config.h and CEGUIConfig.h were updated, but no effect when CEGUIBASE comes to ask for silly, it even doesn't complain when the silly dll is missing, and it still call the old TGAImageCodec.dll

Did I missed something, or are you sure those paramaters are really used somewhere?
Thanks.

PS: I'm using V0.5 RC2 unmodified

p_designc
Just popping in
Just popping in
Posts: 4
Joined: Tue Nov 07, 2006 10:45

Postby p_designc » Wed Nov 08, 2006 02:09

Quite detail! Thank you so much. appreciate! :D :D

But where can i get the "cegui/samples directory" ? it does not contain in 0.5 RC2 version/

my path settings taking form OGRE media , my .ini file contains:

Code: Select all

ConfigsPath=C:\OgreSDK\media\gui/configs/
FontsPath=C:\OgreSDK\media\gui/fonts/
ImagesetsPath=C:\OgreSDK\media\gui/imagesets/
LayoutsPath=C:\OgreSDK\media\gui/layouts/
LookNFeelsPath=C:\OgreSDK\media\gui/looknfeel/
ScriptsPath=C:\OgreSDK\media\gui/lua_scripts/
SchemesPath=C:\OgreSDK\media\gui/schemes/


scriptkid wrote:Hi,

the idea is that you select the datafiles directory in the cegui/samples directory for example. Or an equally looking directory. Looking at your log it seems to be '../../Media/GUI/'.

Once you have done this, keep in mind that the editor uses cegui's ResourceGroup functionality, meaning that you don't have to (or in fact may not) use paths inside your .scheme files for example.

So you should remove all '../../Media/GUI/XXX/' parts from paths in your data files.

Besides that, have a peek at the .ini file, which the editor will create after a first startup. There you can specify a path per resource type. It's all up to you :-)

Good luck!

User avatar
drumicube
Not too shy to talk
Not too shy to talk
Posts: 43
Joined: Thu Nov 02, 2006 12:09
Location: France

Postby drumicube » Fri Nov 10, 2006 23:57

Here is a little contribution for the CELayoutEditor:

It was asked few weeks ago, and I needed it too:
So here is the TGA JPG and PNG support for CEGUILayoutEditor 0.5
All I had to change was to specify the SillyImageCodec as the default one before the OpenGL Renderer Init.

Code: Select all

void EditorFrame::InitializeCEGUI(){
   
   CEGUI::OpenGLRenderer::setDefaultImageCodecName("SILLYImageCodec");

   m_GUIRenderer = new OpenGLRenderer (0);

You also need the Silly dlls in your executable folder.
Here is a little zip, with all the needed files for windows, you can simply copy this to your CELayoutEditor 0.5 folder. (don't forget to backup first, who knows...:roll:)
I also included in it a datafiles folder which is a copy of the one provided in CEGUI-0.5.0 samples, in which I added the skeekspace interface.
Very usefull to test the png support...

CEGUILayoutEditor 0.5 with png and jpg support

User avatar
scriptkid
Home away from home
Home away from home
Posts: 1178
Joined: Wed Jan 12, 2005 12:06
Location: The Hague, The Netherlands
Contact:

Postby scriptkid » Sat Nov 11, 2006 11:47

Thanks! I will update the sourcecode accordingly :-)

User avatar
drumicube
Not too shy to talk
Not too shy to talk
Posts: 43
Joined: Thu Nov 02, 2006 12:09
Location: France

Postby drumicube » Sat Nov 11, 2006 17:46

You're welcome ScriptKid !
Tools like yours are really of great help.
Thanks for your work ;)

User avatar
scriptkid
Home away from home
Home away from home
Posts: 1178
Joined: Wed Jan 12, 2005 12:06
Location: The Hague, The Netherlands
Contact:

Postby scriptkid » Fri Nov 17, 2006 16:49

Hi drumicube,

i have applied your idea of using the Silly image codecs, so the editor now supports TGA, JPG and PNG for imagesets and backgrounds. (Both tested with your -nice looking!- SleekSpace files.

Just update SVN and you should be okay :-)

User avatar
drumicube
Not too shy to talk
Not too shy to talk
Posts: 43
Joined: Thu Nov 02, 2006 12:09
Location: France

Postby drumicube » Sat Nov 18, 2006 17:01

Tested few minutes ago, but this time under the latest Ubuntu:
It worked fine, after I recompiled CEGUI with silly support...

Image

WxWidgets is so cool when it comes to cross-platform... ;)

User avatar
scriptkid
Home away from home
Home away from home
Posts: 1178
Joined: Wed Jan 12, 2005 12:06
Location: The Hague, The Netherlands
Contact:

Postby scriptkid » Sat Nov 18, 2006 18:10

Nice that you got it to work :-)

i agree about wxWidgets; its native adaption is really cool!

Slicky
Quite a regular
Quite a regular
Posts: 63
Joined: Wed Jan 12, 2005 12:06

Postby Slicky » Sun Nov 19, 2006 21:30

I think there's a bug with at least the align width command.

    -Create a blank layout
    -Add two buttons
    -Resize the width of the first one
    -Select the first and also select the second (to show which you want to be the reference)
    -Choose align width
    -The second button shoots to the left of the screen and its left and right scale values are messed up


Return to “Unofficial CEGUI-Related Tools”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 10 guests