CELayoutUser: Lets use DevIL not SILLY?

Use this forum for:
- Discussion regarding unofficial CEGUI related tools, scripts and utilities.
- User to user help for the obsoleted CELayoutEditor and CEImagesetEditor tools.

Moderators: CEGUI MVP, CEGUI Team

arrummzen
Just popping in
Just popping in
Posts: 7
Joined: Sat Jun 02, 2007 17:54

CELayoutUser: Lets use DevIL not SILLY?

Postby arrummzen » Mon Jun 18, 2007 23:30

I don't know what the SILLY codec is, and apparently it isn't installed by default on most Linux distros, can we either make this user configurable or switch to the more common DevIL?

Change:
CEGUI::OpenGLRenderer::setDefaultImageCodecName("SILLYImageCodec");
To:
CEGUI::OpenGLRenderer::setDefaultImageCodecName("DevILImageCodec");
In:
src/EditorFrame.cpp

Thank you for your time,
James Steven Supancic III

Shades
Just popping in
Just popping in
Posts: 6
Joined: Thu Jun 14, 2007 18:18

Postby Shades » Tue Jun 19, 2007 08:05

SILLY is the Simple Image Loading LibrarY. It was designed for CEGUI by Dalfy (I believe, please someone correct if I'm wrong)

You can get it from the cegui download page: http://www.cegui.org.uk/wiki/index.php/Downloads

And there is meant to be an API at http://dalfy.dyndns.org/~ode/cegui/RC2/silly_api_reference but it doesn't seem to want to load anymore.

However I when you run ./configure you can change the default image library to whatever you like, for devil you will need to add

Code: Select all

--with-default-image-codec=DevILImageCodec
.

You can also disable the other image codecs there.[/code]

arrummzen
Just popping in
Just popping in
Posts: 7
Joined: Sat Jun 02, 2007 17:54

Postby arrummzen » Thu Jun 21, 2007 11:03

I am using the most recent SVN version. --with-default-image-codec=DevILImageCodec
has no effect at all. ./configure --help makes zero mention of that option or anything similar.

I have created a patch for the svn version:
http://arrummzen.net/celayout.patch
that enables an option that does just that.

Thank you for your time,
James Steven Supancic III

ppl
Not too shy to talk
Not too shy to talk
Posts: 31
Joined: Tue May 15, 2007 16:37
Location: Canada

Postby ppl » Thu Jun 21, 2007 12:09

CEGUI::OpenGLRenderer::setDefaultImageCodecName() set OpenGLRenderer::d_defaultImageCodecName which is default initialized to CEGUI_DEFAULT_IMAGE_CODEC which is provided when you compile CEGUI.

When you compile CEGUI you can provide the ./configure option that Shades suggested.

CELayoutEditor should use whichever default codec CEGUI was compiled with. Therefor, the call to CEGUI::OpenGLRenderer::setDefaultImageCodecName() should be completly removed.

If we want to change the default image codec name in CELayoutEditor, it should be in the form of an option (.ini).

I didn't try any of this but by looking at the code this seems to be the logical thing to do.

Arrummzen, can you confirm that removing the call to setDefaultImageCodecName() solve your problem? I assume you compile CEGUI with DEVIL as the default image codec?

HTH,
ppl

arrummzen
Just popping in
Just popping in
Posts: 7
Joined: Sat Jun 02, 2007 17:54

Postby arrummzen » Thu Jun 21, 2007 12:26

Yes. I removed the call to
CEGUI::OpenGLRenderer::setDefaultImageCodecName("SILLYImageCodec");
and it works fine. I suppose that is a much easier way to solve the problem.

Thank you for your time,
James Steven Supancic III

ppl
Not too shy to talk
Not too shy to talk
Posts: 31
Joined: Tue May 15, 2007 16:37
Location: Canada

Postby ppl » Thu Jun 21, 2007 12:45

Bug added to mantis (151): http://www.cegui.org.uk/mantis/view.php?id=151

Thanks,
ppl

User avatar
scriptkid
Home away from home
Home away from home
Posts: 1178
Joined: Wed Jan 12, 2005 12:06
Location: The Hague, The Netherlands
Contact:

Postby scriptkid » Fri Jun 22, 2007 13:34

I've looked at the cegui sources and i've discovered the reason why this quick change was made to the editor. Cegui defaults to the TGA image codec, which -as the name states- only allowes the use of TGA for background images.

An INI options could do (i read the mantis ticket), however the user has to know which codec (s)he may choose from. But on the other hand the current setup requires Silly so that's not much of an argument... yeah an ini option might do just fine...

ppl
Not too shy to talk
Not too shy to talk
Posts: 31
Joined: Tue May 15, 2007 16:37
Location: Canada

Postby ppl » Fri Jun 22, 2007 15:53

scriptkid wrote:I've looked at the cegui sources and i've discovered the reason why this quick change was made to the editor. Cegui defaults to the TGA image codec, which -as the name states- only allowes the use of TGA for background images.

An INI options could do (i read the mantis ticket), however the user has to know which codec (s)he may choose from. But on the other hand the current setup requires Silly so that's not much of an argument... yeah an ini option might do just fine...


It would be even better if you could get a listing of available codecs from CEGUI. Is it possible?

Then we could add a menu option (+ ini option saving) to actually change the image codec on the fly from the available codec list.


Return to “Unofficial CEGUI-Related Tools”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 7 guests