Hi all,
Here I am again with one of my newbie questions :/.
This time is about the Menubar. I have created a menu bar with the editor. Nice, it has loaded perfectly. I can see the menu bar, but when I click on the items they don´t do anything. I have seen some code at the wiki, and it seems no events have to be registered for the manubar items (the one that expand the popup menues), but nothing happen when I click on the main menu items. This works perfectly in the editor... Do anybody know what could be hapenning?.
Thanks in advance,
HexDump.
Menubar inactive?
Moderators: CEGUI MVP, CEGUI Team
- CrazyEddie
- CEGUI Project Lead
- Posts: 6760
- Joined: Wed Jan 12, 2005 12:06
- Location: England
- Contact:
HI Eddie,
Here is my layout:
Thanks in advance,
HexDump.
Here is my layout:
Code: Select all
<?xml version="1.0" encoding="UTF-8"?>
<GUILayout >
<Window Type="DefaultWindow" Name="MainWindow" >
<Property Name="InheritsAlpha" Value="False" />
<Property Name="UnifiedMaxSize" Value="{{1,0},{1,0}}" />
<Property Name="UnifiedAreaRect" Value="{{0,0},{0,0},{1,0},{1,0}}" />
<Window Type="TaharezLook/Menubar" Name="MainMenu" >
<Property Name="ItemSpacing" Value="10" />
<Property Name="UnifiedMaxSize" Value="{{1,0},{1,0}}" />
<Property Name="UnifiedAreaRect" Value="{{-0.00312502,0},{0.0033334,0},{0.996875,0},{0.0512503,0}}" />
<Window Type="TaharezLook/MenuItem" Name="MainMenu/File" >
<Property Name="Text" Value="File" />
<Property Name="UnifiedMaxSize" Value="{{1,0},{1,0}}" />
<Property Name="UnifiedAreaRect" Value="{{0,7},{0,0},{0,30},{0,21}}" />
<Property Name="VerticalAlignment" Value="Centre" />
<Window Type="TaharezLook/PopupMenu" Name="MainMenu/File/AutoPopup" >
<Property Name="Visible" Value="False" />
<Property Name="FadeInTime" Value="0" />
<Property Name="FadeOutTime" Value="0" />
<Property Name="ItemSpacing" Value="2" />
<Property Name="UnifiedMaxSize" Value="{{1,0},{1,0}}" />
<Property Name="ClippedByParent" Value="False" />
<Property Name="UnifiedAreaRect" Value="{{0,0},{0,21},{0,36},{0,138.455}}" />
<Property Name="AutoResizeEnabled" Value="True" />
<Window Type="TaharezLook/MenuItem" Name="MainMenu/File/New" >
<Property Name="Text" Value="New" />
<Property Name="UnifiedMaxSize" Value="{{1,0},{1,0}}" />
<Property Name="UnifiedAreaRect" Value="{{0,2},{0,2},{0,34},{0,23}}" />
</Window>
<Window Type="TaharezLook/MenuItem" Name="MainMenu/File/Open" >
<Property Name="Text" Value="Open" />
<Property Name="UnifiedMaxSize" Value="{{1,0},{1,0}}" />
<Property Name="UnifiedAreaRect" Value="{{0,2},{0,25},{0,34},{0,46}}" />
</Window>
<Window Type="TaharezLook/MenuItem" Name="MainMenu/File/Close" >
<Property Name="Text" Value="Close" />
<Property Name="UnifiedMaxSize" Value="{{1,0},{1,0}}" />
<Property Name="UnifiedAreaRect" Value="{{0,2},{0,48},{0,34},{0,69}}" />
</Window>
<Window Type="TaharezLook/MenuItem" Name="MainMenu/File/Save" >
<Property Name="Text" Value="Save" />
<Property Name="UnifiedMaxSize" Value="{{1,0},{1,0}}" />
<Property Name="UnifiedAreaRect" Value="{{0,2},{0,71},{0,34},{0,92}}" />
</Window>
<Window Type="TaharezLook/MenuItem" Name="MainMenu/File/Exit" >
<Property Name="Text" Value="Exit" />
<Property Name="UnifiedMaxSize" Value="{{1,0},{1,0}}" />
<Property Name="UnifiedAreaRect" Value="{{0,2},{0,94},{0,34},{0,115}}" />
</Window>
</Window>
</Window>
<Window Type="TaharezLook/MenuItem" Name="MainMenu/Help" >
<Property Name="Text" Value="Help" />
<Property Name="UnifiedMaxSize" Value="{{1,0},{1,0}}" />
<Property Name="UnifiedAreaRect" Value="{{0,40},{0,0},{0,66},{0,21}}" />
<Property Name="VerticalAlignment" Value="Centre" />
<Window Type="TaharezLook/PopupMenu" Name="MainMenu/Help/AutoPopup" >
<Property Name="Visible" Value="False" />
<Property Name="FadeInTime" Value="0" />
<Property Name="FadeOutTime" Value="0" />
<Property Name="ItemSpacing" Value="2" />
<Property Name="UnifiedMaxSize" Value="{{1,0},{1,0}}" />
<Property Name="ClippedByParent" Value="False" />
<Property Name="UnifiedAreaRect" Value="{{0,0},{0,21},{0,63},{0,69.2939}}" />
<Property Name="AutoResizeEnabled" Value="True" />
<Window Type="TaharezLook/MenuItem" Name="MainMenu/Help/Help" >
<Property Name="Text" Value="Contents..." />
<Property Name="UnifiedMaxSize" Value="{{1,0},{1,0}}" />
<Property Name="UnifiedAreaRect" Value="{{0,2},{0,2},{0,61},{0,23}}" />
</Window>
<Window Type="TaharezLook/MenuItem" Name="MainMenu/Help/About" >
<Property Name="Text" Value="About..." />
<Property Name="UnifiedMaxSize" Value="{{1,0},{1,0}}" />
<Property Name="UnifiedAreaRect" Value="{{0,2},{0,25},{0,61},{0,46}}" />
</Window>
</Window>
</Window>
</Window>
<Window Type="DefaultWindow" Name="AppWindow/" >
<Property Name="UnifiedMaxSize" Value="{{1,0},{1,0}}" />
<Property Name="UnifiedAreaRect" Value="{{4.49363e-008,0},{0.0520834,0},{1.00312,0},{0.997917,0}}" />
</Window>
</Window>
</GUILayout>
Thanks in advance,
HexDump.
- CrazyEddie
- CEGUI Project Lead
- Posts: 6760
- Joined: Wed Jan 12, 2005 12:06
- Location: England
- Contact:
- CrazyEddie
- CEGUI Project Lead
- Posts: 6760
- Joined: Wed Jan 12, 2005 12:06
- Location: England
- Contact:
Hi,
I read your reply, and then had the lightbulb come on
I would be willing to bet that you have multiple overlapping full-screen 'pages' (DefaultWindows) attached to the same root - this means that when one page gets moved in front of the page with the menus on the page that is now underneath, events are stopped from getting to it by an invisible window (lol, that's not the clearest explanation).
My recommendation is to try and make sure you do not have multiple full-screen DefaultWindows. Although you could try setting the mouse passthrough on those windows to allow mouse events to "pass through" (hence the name) - which is an easier solution, I guess...
Window::setMousePassThroughEnabled
and
MousePassThroughEnabled property
HTH
CE
I read your reply, and then had the lightbulb come on
I would be willing to bet that you have multiple overlapping full-screen 'pages' (DefaultWindows) attached to the same root - this means that when one page gets moved in front of the page with the menus on the page that is now underneath, events are stopped from getting to it by an invisible window (lol, that's not the clearest explanation).
My recommendation is to try and make sure you do not have multiple full-screen DefaultWindows. Although you could try setting the mouse passthrough on those windows to allow mouse events to "pass through" (hence the name) - which is an easier solution, I guess...
Window::setMousePassThroughEnabled
and
MousePassThroughEnabled property
HTH
CE
Hi again!,
Well, I just came with a "I found a solution" full of proud, but I saw you just spotted the problem. I don´t really know what was hapenning but I suspect is something realted to what you stated.
My layout is something like this
-Sheet
--MAIN MENU
--Default Window (This will be used to change screens, I´m not using sheet)
---Default Window (In my case one of my screens, this was a tile editor)
----FrameWindow for a meshbrowser
----Other things
This is what I have now and it seems to work. I was playing with it and perhpas your were true and some default windows were overlapping. Anyway it is working now. What do you think about my layout? is it bad to have several default windows this way?.
Edit: By the way which is the best way to have some template of windows like a, Yes no dialog, etc...? Should I be adding them to my layout and hide them and show the one I need when needed?. For example I need a dialog, that shows a text, with 2 buttons (Yes/No) is it possible to add it to the layout for later use? This way I only had to change the text when needed and this will provide me a nice Yes/No selection dialog.
Thanks in advance,
HexDump.
Well, I just came with a "I found a solution" full of proud, but I saw you just spotted the problem. I don´t really know what was hapenning but I suspect is something realted to what you stated.
My layout is something like this
-Sheet
--MAIN MENU
--Default Window (This will be used to change screens, I´m not using sheet)
---Default Window (In my case one of my screens, this was a tile editor)
----FrameWindow for a meshbrowser
----Other things
This is what I have now and it seems to work. I was playing with it and perhpas your were true and some default windows were overlapping. Anyway it is working now. What do you think about my layout? is it bad to have several default windows this way?.
Edit: By the way which is the best way to have some template of windows like a, Yes no dialog, etc...? Should I be adding them to my layout and hide them and show the one I need when needed?. For example I need a dialog, that shows a text, with 2 buttons (Yes/No) is it possible to add it to the layout for later use? This way I only had to change the text when needed and this will provide me a nice Yes/No selection dialog.
Thanks in advance,
HexDump.
- CrazyEddie
- CEGUI Project Lead
- Posts: 6760
- Joined: Wed Jan 12, 2005 12:06
- Location: England
- Contact:
Hi,
Sorry to have stolen your glory
Basically what you want to try and avoid is having full sized DefaultWindows (or sheets - basically the same thing) in a side-by-side arrangement (hierarchically speaking, as in attached to a common parent, not visually) . Except in cases where you intend to show/hide them in order to implement pages that are not supposed to be interacted with simultaneously.
If, for whatever reason, it is required or otherwise desirable to have things arranged in a side-by-side fashion, just ensure that the mouse pass through is enabled for those DefaultWindows / sheets - this way it should not matter how you have things arranged.
With regards to the yes/no dialog, there are a thousand and one ways of going about it Having it permanently attached to the root sheet, and showing/hiding it as required is certainly one valid approach, especially for simple cases where you're never going to want more than one at the same time.
It's likely if I were to need such a thing myself it would be a more generic class based affair, though I am "Mr. Overkill". If things go well over the weekend, I might be inspired to Wiki such a thing (Or maybe it already exists?!)
CE.
Sorry to have stolen your glory
Basically what you want to try and avoid is having full sized DefaultWindows (or sheets - basically the same thing) in a side-by-side arrangement (hierarchically speaking, as in attached to a common parent, not visually) . Except in cases where you intend to show/hide them in order to implement pages that are not supposed to be interacted with simultaneously.
If, for whatever reason, it is required or otherwise desirable to have things arranged in a side-by-side fashion, just ensure that the mouse pass through is enabled for those DefaultWindows / sheets - this way it should not matter how you have things arranged.
With regards to the yes/no dialog, there are a thousand and one ways of going about it Having it permanently attached to the root sheet, and showing/hiding it as required is certainly one valid approach, especially for simple cases where you're never going to want more than one at the same time.
It's likely if I were to need such a thing myself it would be a more generic class based affair, though I am "Mr. Overkill". If things go well over the weekend, I might be inspired to Wiki such a thing (Or maybe it already exists?!)
CE.
Who is online
Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 17 guests