FrameWindow resize bug

Forum for general chit-chat or off-topic discussion.

Moderators: CEGUI MVP, CEGUI Team

earthsruler
Quite a regular
Quite a regular
Posts: 74
Joined: Mon Apr 28, 2008 23:21
Location: Australia

FrameWindow resize bug

Postby earthsruler » Thu May 15, 2008 06:10

I was resizing a frame window today and noticed that if you drag one edge past its opposite edge you will mess up the window so that there is nothing left but the close button.

I checked in the tracker and it seems its not reported.

Is this a known problem and should i report it to the selfless CEGUI team through mantis?

My current fix is to disable resizing :)

User avatar
scriptkid
Home away from home
Home away from home
Posts: 1178
Joined: Wed Jan 12, 2005 12:06
Location: The Hague, The Netherlands
Contact:

Postby scriptkid » Thu May 15, 2008 06:34

Hi and welcome :),

if this happens with the latest version, it sounds like a bug. I have added it to mantis: http://www.cegui.org.uk/mantis/view.php?id=193

A workaround is to use the MinSize property for your window, for example:

Code: Select all

<property name="MinSize" value="{{0.2,0},{0.2,0}}"/>


To set is minimal dimensions to 20% of its parent.

HTH.
Check out my released snake game using Cegui!

earthsruler
Quite a regular
Quite a regular
Posts: 74
Joined: Mon Apr 28, 2008 23:21
Location: Australia

Postby earthsruler » Thu May 15, 2008 09:04

Cool thanks for the tip :)

User avatar
CrazyEddie
CEGUI Project Lead
Posts: 6760
Joined: Wed Jan 12, 2005 12:06
Location: England
Contact:

Postby CrazyEddie » Mon May 19, 2008 08:32

Hi,

I was previously aware of this issue, such that it is. I'm not sure it's actually a bug as such, since the correct procedure is to set an appropriate minimum size.

I guess the close button remaining visible could be considered a bug :)

CE.

earthsruler
Quite a regular
Quite a regular
Posts: 74
Joined: Mon Apr 28, 2008 23:21
Location: Australia

Postby earthsruler » Wed May 21, 2008 02:28


I was previously aware of this issue, such that it is. I'm not sure it's actually a bug as such, since the correct procedure is to set an appropriate minimum size.



In that case maybe it would be good idea to simply have a default minimum value to stop it breaking if someone (like me) hasn't set a minimum :).

User avatar
CrazyEddie
CEGUI Project Lead
Posts: 6760
Joined: Wed Jan 12, 2005 12:06
Location: England
Contact:

Postby CrazyEddie » Wed May 21, 2008 08:50

Yeah, of course ;)

I'll modify the skins so that they are setting an appropriate minimum size.

CE.

earthsruler
Quite a regular
Quite a regular
Posts: 74
Joined: Mon Apr 28, 2008 23:21
Location: Australia

Postby earthsruler » Thu May 22, 2008 05:17

A workaround is to use the MinSize property for your window, for example:

Code: Select all

<property name="MinSize" value="{{0.2,0},{0.2,0}}"/>



This xml may be outdated.

Just to be clear people wanting to set the minimum size should use

Code: Select all

<Property Name="UnifiedMinSize" Value="{{0.2,0},{0.2,0}}" />


However it doesn't have to be 0.2 ;)

User avatar
scriptkid
Home away from home
Home away from home
Posts: 1178
Joined: Wed Jan 12, 2005 12:06
Location: The Hague, The Netherlands
Contact:

Postby scriptkid » Thu May 22, 2008 07:08

This xml may be outdated.


No, it was just my brains ;) I should have added the Unified part.
Check out my released snake game using Cegui!


Return to “Offtopic Discussion”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 12 guests