[solved]textarea in CEGUI

For help with general CEGUI usage:
- Questions about the usage of CEGUI and its features, if not explained in the documentation.
- Problems with the CMAKE configuration or problems occuring during the build process/compilation.
- Errors or unexpected behaviour.

Moderators: CEGUI MVP, CEGUI Team

Elric
Just popping in
Just popping in
Posts: 7
Joined: Tue Jun 24, 2008 23:07
Location: Istanbul

[solved]textarea in CEGUI

Postby Elric » Fri Jun 27, 2008 21:33

Hi,

I asked this in the Ogre forums too and writing here too.

I need to display some only readable text on the screen. Story will be presented in this way so texts can be longer than the size of the widget.

I tried to do create a statictext inside of a scrollablepane but it didn't work. (pane wasn't scrollable. maybe I think something wrong.) Any idea how can I do this?

Thanks.
Last edited by Elric on Sat Jul 05, 2008 12:40, edited 1 time in total.

User avatar
scriptkid
Home away from home
Home away from home
Posts: 1178
Joined: Wed Jan 12, 2005 12:06
Location: The Hague, The Netherlands
Contact:

Postby scriptkid » Sat Jun 28, 2008 09:35

Hi,

You only need a StaticText, because it provides scrolling on itself, and all kinds of formatting options as well. Also, a static text is readonly by design already.

If you have the Cegui samples, please look at the TextDemo, and its corresponding TextDemo.layout file.

Good luck!
Last edited by scriptkid on Thu Jul 03, 2008 07:00, edited 1 time in total.
Check out my released snake game using Cegui!

Elric
Just popping in
Just popping in
Posts: 7
Joined: Tue Jun 24, 2008 23:07
Location: Istanbul

Postby Elric » Wed Jul 02, 2008 08:01

I am replying a little late, sorry.

Thanks for the help. I tried using only static image but it didn't work. I will check from the samples and see where I was wrong.

Elric
Just popping in
Just popping in
Posts: 7
Joined: Tue Jun 24, 2008 23:07
Location: Istanbul

Postby Elric » Wed Jul 02, 2008 09:19

I can do it using a MultiLineEditBox, not with a static text. Thanks to TextDemo.layout :)

By the way I can not compile the samples, when I include direct3d .h files and try to compile it says

Code: Select all

d:\developer\microsoft visual studio 8\vc\platformsdk\include\winnt.h(222) : error C2146: syntax error : missing ';' before identifier 'PVOID64'
d:\developer\microsoft visual studio 8\vc\platformsdk\include\winnt.h(222) : error C4430: missing type specifier - int assumed. Note: C++ does not support default-int
d:\developer\microsoft visual studio 8\vc\platformsdk\include\winnt.h(5940) : error C2146: syntax error : missing ';' before identifier 'Buffer'
d:\developer\microsoft visual studio 8\vc\platformsdk\include\winnt.h(5940) : error C4430: missing type specifier - int assumed. Note: C++ does not support default-int
d:\developer\microsoft visual studio 8\vc\platformsdk\include\winnt.h(5940) : error C4430: missing type specifier - int assumed. Note: C++ does not support default-int
d:\cegui-sdk-0.6.1-vc8\cegui-sdk-0.6.1-vc8\include\dinput.h: DIRECTINPUT_VERSION undefined. Defaulting to version 0x0800
DeviceReset_Direct3D9.cpp

and goes on...

Do I have have incompatible direct3d .h files? What should I do?

User avatar
scriptkid
Home away from home
Home away from home
Posts: 1178
Joined: Wed Jan 12, 2005 12:06
Location: The Hague, The Netherlands
Contact:

Postby scriptkid » Thu Jul 03, 2008 07:04

Do the samples compile out of the box? Or didn't you make changes yet?

Make sure that the DX SDK files are included first in the global directory setup. For VC8 that would be Tools->Options->Projects & Solutions->VC++ directories.

HTH.
Check out my released snake game using Cegui!


Return to “Help”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 3 guests