3d GUI ?

Forum for general chit-chat or off-topic discussion.

Moderators: CEGUI MVP, CEGUI Team

orlay
Just popping in
Just popping in
Posts: 6
Joined: Thu Feb 19, 2009 21:47

3d GUI ?

Postby orlay » Thu Feb 19, 2009 21:51

Can I use Crazy Eddie's GUI System as 3D GUI ?

User avatar
CrazyEddie
CEGUI Project Lead
Posts: 6760
Joined: Wed Jan 12, 2005 12:06
Location: England
Contact:

Postby CrazyEddie » Fri Feb 20, 2009 09:24

Hi, and welcome :)

What's a 3D GUI?

CE.

orlay
Just popping in
Just popping in
Posts: 6
Joined: Thu Feb 19, 2009 21:47

Postby orlay » Mon Feb 23, 2009 14:04

That has real 3d representation.

My idea is use it in a cave of virtual reality, and I need menus with depth.

User avatar
CrazyEddie
CEGUI Project Lead
Posts: 6760
Joined: Wed Jan 12, 2005 12:06
Location: England
Contact:

Postby CrazyEddie » Tue Feb 24, 2009 09:31

Hi,

Although I'm still not certain what you're after, I believe that what you want is not easily achieved with the current releases. I think the possibilities that will exist to perform additional manipulations in the upcoming 0.7.x series will make this more easily achievable.

Currently the windows are all flat rectangles rendered via an orthographic projection, and there is also no real support for rendering to texture.

The 0.7.x series changes the way things are rendered. Here we will be using perspective projections - so manipulating windows in 3D space becomes a real possibility. Additionally with the core rendering to texture support that makes that possible, it also gives you the opportunity to take that 'flat' GUI rendering and apply it elsewhere in your scene.

So, I think what you want is probably not yet possible, but may become possible once 0.7 is released later this year.

HTH

CE.

orlay
Just popping in
Just popping in
Posts: 6
Joined: Thu Feb 19, 2009 21:47

Postby orlay » Tue Feb 24, 2009 19:50

ok, thank you very much. For now I'll use my own GUI, and wait for the 0.7 series of CEGUI.

Garibalde
Just popping in
Just popping in
Posts: 10
Joined: Tue Sep 14, 2010 17:50
Location: Montreal, Quebec
Contact:

Re: 3d GUI ?

Postby Garibalde » Wed Oct 06, 2010 15:32

Hi

I am new at using 3D GUIs, I have previously implemented 2D GUI with QT and other applications.
However now i am looking into creating actual 3D based GUIs. Is this possible yet and if so can
someone provide me some information to read or learn how such a thing can be achieved with
the use of CEGUI such as RTT techniques etc.

Thanks
Garibalde
VIRMED Simulation Technologies Inc
http://www.virmedsim.com

User avatar
Kulik
CEGUI Team
Posts: 1382
Joined: Mon Jul 26, 2010 18:47
Location: Czech Republic
Contact:

Re: 3d GUI ?

Postby Kulik » Wed Oct 06, 2010 17:55

It depends what you mean by 3D GUI. Do you mean a 2D gui overlayed onto 3D objects like in Doom3? Please elaborate on what you want to do...

Garibalde
Just popping in
Just popping in
Posts: 10
Joined: Tue Sep 14, 2010 17:50
Location: Montreal, Quebec
Contact:

Re: 3d GUI ?

Postby Garibalde » Fri Oct 08, 2010 17:24

Hi Kulik,

I am looking at creating a gui overlaying it on an objects and being able to use the gui in a virtual environment. Something exactly like in doom3
on a computer console where the user can interact with it.

Thanks
Garibalde
VIRMED Simulation Technologies Inc
http://www.virmedsim.com

User avatar
Kulik
CEGUI Team
Posts: 1382
Joined: Mon Jul 26, 2010 18:47
Location: Czech Republic
Contact:

Re: 3d GUI ?

Postby Kulik » Fri Oct 08, 2010 18:05

You can do it with CEGUI 0.7 by activating auto rendering surface and then using it to overlay onto objects. Rendering is a breeze, input injecting will have to be a bit more elaborate.

In 0.8 multi root windowing is planned so Doom3-like UI will be officially supported.


Return to “Offtopic Discussion”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 2 guests