Direct3D 9 Renderer error.

For help with anything that CEGUI doesn't offer straight out-of-the-box, e.g.:
- Implementation of new features, such as new Core classes, widgets, WindowRenderers, etc. ...
- Modification of any existing features for specific purposes
- Integration of CEGUI in new engines or frameworks and writing of new plugins (Renderer, Parser, ...) or modules

Moderators: CEGUI MVP, CEGUI Team

User avatar
Derek
Quite a regular
Quite a regular
Posts: 70
Joined: Wed Jan 12, 2005 12:06

Direct3D 9 Renderer error.

Postby Derek » Fri Jun 10, 2005 07:27

10/06/2005 07:12:17 (Error) Exception: Font::defineFontGlyphs_impl - operation requires a texture larger than the supported maximum.
10/06/2005 07:12:17 (Error) XercesParser::parseXMLFile - An unexpected error occurred while parsing XML file 'datafiles/fonts/Tahoma-8.font'.
10/06/2005 07:12:17 (Error) Font::load - loading of Font from file 'datafiles/fonts/Tahoma-8.font' failed.


Anyone know how to fix this? I'm using a directx9 renderer with this code:

Code: Select all

   // create our font
   Font *font = FontManager::getSingleton().createFont("datafiles/fonts/Tahoma-8.font");
   font->defineFontGlyphs( (utf8*)" !\"#$%&'()*+,-./0123456789:;<=>?@ABCDEFGHIJKLMNOPQRSTUVWXYZ[\\]^_`abcdefghijklmnopqrstuvwxyz{|}~" );
   System::getSingleton().setDefaultFont(font);


Thanks,

-Derek

User avatar
CrazyEddie
CEGUI Project Lead
Posts: 6760
Joined: Wed Jan 12, 2005 12:06
Location: England
Contact:

Re: Direct3D 9 Renderer error.

Postby CrazyEddie » Fri Jun 10, 2005 11:43

Hi,

What card is this on, what resolution are you running at, and do you have auto-scaling enabled or disabled for the font?

Having asked that, the glyph selection does not seem so large as to cause issues with texture sizes on reasonably modern cards. What's getting returned from the renderer getMaxTextureSize method?

User avatar
Derek
Quite a regular
Quite a regular
Posts: 70
Joined: Wed Jan 12, 2005 12:06

Re: Direct3D 9 Renderer error.

Postby Derek » Sat Jun 11, 2005 15:48

Auto scaling is at its default state. It's running at 800x600 on a Geforce 440 Go (laptop).

I don't know what is coming out of the getmaxtexturesize method. But it has to be sufficiently large...


My friend ran it on his pc with 128mb video ram as well. Gave the same error.


Thanks for your help eddie!

-Derek

User avatar
lindquist
CEGUI Team (Retired)
Posts: 770
Joined: Mon Jan 24, 2005 21:20
Location: Copenhagen, Denmark

Re: Direct3D 9 Renderer error.

Postby lindquist » Sat Jun 11, 2005 16:18

You should really check the output of getMaxTextureSize.
The amount of videoram is not an indicator for how large a texture can be. This is limited in the hardware. I guess for optimization purposes.

Usual values are 2048x2048 or 4096x4096.

User avatar
Derek
Quite a regular
Quite a regular
Posts: 70
Joined: Wed Jan 12, 2005 12:06

Re: Direct3D 9 Renderer error.

Postby Derek » Sat Jun 11, 2005 17:38

Heh, i feel kinda dumb for this.

I was mixing DLLS compiled in MSVC++ 6 with MSVC++ 7. Therefore, there was most likely a CRT compatability issue which caused the problem.

Working fine now. Thanks guys :P

:pint:

-Derek


Return to “Modifications / Integrations / Customisations”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 10 guests